News Release

American Political Science Association Awards Brookings Scholars

September 7, 2001

Brookings senior fellow Thomas Mann and Robert Katzmann, a U.S. Circuit Court of Appeals Judge and former Brookings fellow, were awarded the 2001 Charles E. Merriam Award by the American Political Science Association (APSA). Both winners were in San Francisco on August 30 to receive the award at the APSA annual meeting.

APSA, the largest professional association of political scientists in the world, presents this award bi-annually “to a person whose published work and career represents a significant contribution to the art of government through the application of social science research.”

Thomas Mann holds the W. Averell Harriman Chair and is a senior fellow in Governmental Studies at the Brookings Institution. He was director of the Governmental Studies program at Brookings from 1987 to 1999. His most recent projects have included work on campaign finance, election reform, and transitions from campaigning to governing.

Robert Katzmann is a judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit in New York. In 1998, Katzmann served as interim director of the Brookings Governmental Studies program. At Brookings, Katzmann’s research focused on the separation of powers in the federal system, with particular emphasis on the relations between the federal judiciary and Congress.

Brookings scholars who have previously won the Charles E. Merriam Award include Allen Schick, James Sundquist, and Alice Rivlin.

Founded in 1903, APSA is a non-profit organization dedicated to facilitating learning, teaching, and research in the field of political science. APSA currently has more than 13,500 members in over 70 countries worldwide.

About Brookings

The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C. Our mission is to conduct in-depth, nonpartisan research to improve policy and governance at local, national, and global levels.