SERIES: U.S.-Islamic World Forum | Number 12 of 12 « Previous

Jun 9

Past Event

2014 U.S.-Islamic World Forum

Watch videos of the sessions »

Event Materials

Video

Summary

Ambassador Anne Patterson delivers a keynote address at the 2014 U.S. Islamic World Forum. (Steven Purcell)The Brookings Institution’s Project on U.S. Relations with the Islamic World, in partnership with the State of Qatar, convened the 11th annual U.S.-Islamic World Forum from June 9-11, 2014 in Doha, Qatar. The 2014 Forum wass entitled “Islam and Inclusion” and focused on challenges of inclusion within Muslim communities around the world, especially in the context of governance, academia, religious institutions and civil society.

The Forum's plenary sessions (WEBCAST – see agenda below) highlighted several dimensions of relations with and within a rapidly changing Muslim world. Panelists discussed topics, including:
- The future role of the United States in the Middle East.
- The conflict in Syria, with a particular focus on the role of the global community.
- The future of the Palestinian people beyond the context of the peace process.
- Strategies for accommodating religious diversity and respecting religious expression.

The Forum also convened working groups which focus on current issues confronting the Islamic world. The groups’ conclusions and recommendations on these topics may be published as papers. The 2014 Forum also featured a new endeavor, the action group, which seeks to promote inclusion, reconciliation and sustainable economic development in Timbuktu, Mali through the revival of its rich cultural heritage.

Twitter Join the conversation on Twitter using #usislam14
 

**WEBCAST AGENDA**

10:00AM AST
(3:00AM EST)
Welcoming Remarks
SPEAKERS:
• Ted Piccone, Acting Vice President and Director, Foreign Policy, The Brookings Institution
• H.E. Sheikh Abdullah bin Nasser bin Khalifa Al Thani, Prime Minister and Minister of the Interior of Qatar
• H.E. Bujar Nishani, President of Albania
• H.E. Ibrahim Boubacar Keita, President of Mali

Event Details and Video »

11:00AM AST
(4:00AM EST)
Keynote Address
SPEAKER:
• Ambassador Anne Patterson, Assistant Secretary, Bureau of Near Eastern Affairs, U.S. Department of State

Event Details and Video »

11:45AM AST
(4:45AM EST)
The Future of the United States in the Middle East
SPEAKERS:
• Tamara Cofman Wittes (Moderator), Director and Senior Fellow, Saban Center for Middle East Policy, The Brookings Institution
• Issandr Elamrani, Head of North Africa Project, International Crisis Group
• Philip Gordon, White House Coordinator for the Middle East, North Africa, and the Gulf Region, U.S. National Security Council
• Hisham Melhem, Washington Bureau Chief, Al Arabiya
• Bruce Riedel, Senior Fellow, Saban Center for Middle East Policy, The Brookings Institution
• Shibley Telhami, Nonresident Senior Fellow, Project on U.S. Relations with the Islamic World, The Brookings Institution
 
Event Details and Video »
9:30AM AST
(2:30AM EST)
The Conflict in Syria
SPEAKERS:
• Salman Shaikh (Moderator), Director, Brookings Doha Center, The Brookings Institution
• Hassan Hachimi, Head of Political Affairs for the United States and Canada, Syrian National Coalition
• Mouaz Al Khatib, Former President, National Coalition for Syrian Revolutionary & Opposition Forces
• Mouaz Moustafa, Political Director, Syrian Emergency Task Force

Event Details and Video »

2:15PM AST
(7:15AM EST)
Defining the Future: Palestinian Voices
SPEAKERS:
• Khaled Elgindy (Moderator), Fellow, Saban Center for Middle East Policy, The Brookings Institution
• Mustafa Barghouthi, General Secretary, Palestinian National Initiative
• Mohammed S. Dajani Al Daoudi, Founder, Wasatia
• Omar Shaban, Founder, PalThink for Strategic Studies
• Husam Zomlot, Deputy Commissioner for Political Affairs and Official Spokesman, Fatah Commission for International Affairs

Event Details and Video »
10:30AM AST
(3:30AM EST)
Accommodating Religious Diversity
SPEAKERS:
• H.A. Hellyer (Moderator), Nonresident Fellow, Project on U.S. Relations with the Islamic World, The Brookings Institution
• Mohamed Elsanousi, Secretariat and Director of External Relations, Network of Religious and Traditional Peacemakers
• Rashad Hussain, U.S. Special Envoy to the Organization of Islamic Cooperation
• Mehrezia Labidi-Maiza, Vice Chair, National Founding Assembly, Tunisia
• Yousef Mohammed al-Siddiqi, Head of the Department of Da’wa and Islamic Culture, Qatar University

Event Details and Video »

12:00PM AST
(5:00AM EST)
Closing Remarks and Summary
SPEAKERS:
• Ibrahim Al-Naimi, Chairman, Doha International Center for Interfaith Dialogue
• William McCants, Fellow and Director, Project on U.S. Relations with the Islamic World, The Brookings Institution

Event Details and Video »

WORKING & ACTION GROUPS

REUTERS/Mohsin Raza - Members of a civil society light candles for peace against terrorist attacks in the country in Lahore February 12, 2014. Empowering Pakistan's Civil Society to Counter Violent Extremism
How can the United States and international community adopt a more systematic approach to strengthen Pakistan’s civil society?
Learn More »
REUTERS/Stringer - A member of the Iraqi security force stands at the site of a bomb attack in Ramadi April 16, 2014. Justice in Post-Conflict Settings: Islamic Law and Muslim Communities as Stakeholders in Successful Transition
How can Islamic principles be applied to post-conflict modalities in such a way that Muslims and non-Muslim practitioners alike can benefit?
Learn More »
The "Muslim Communities in Europe & North America: A Transatlantic Dialogue on Contextualized Religion" working group will discuss the nature and significance of a key problem facing Muslim communities in Europe and North America. Muslim Communities in Europe & North America: A Transatlantic Dialogue on Contextualized Religion
A key problem that Muslim communities face in Europe and North America is the challenge of achieving a contextualized understanding of their religion that is suited toward their status as a religious minority in contemporary Western societies.
Learn More »
Women dance at a campaign rally for presidential candidate Ibrahim Boubacar Keita in Timbuktu, Mali. The Timbuktu Renaissance Action Group
The Timbuktu Renaissance Action Group addresses the challenges Mali faces in the wake of the 2012 crisis when violent extremists overthrew Timbuktu and brutally divided the country.
Learn More »

Details

June 9-11, 2014

Map

US Islamic Forum @usislam

FORUM PROGRAM AND PARTICIPANT BIOGRAPHIES

Media Inquiries

U.S. and International Media:
Tina Trenkner
+1.770.605.2248
EMAIL
Regional Media:
Bahaa Omran
+974.4422.7813
EMAIL







“The issues the U.S.-Islamic World Forum addresses…are among those which require a consistent dialogue.”
--Barack Obama, President, United States

SERIES: U.S.-Islamic World Forum | Number 12