News Release

Ambassador J. Stapleton Roy Appointed Chairman of CNAPS Advisory Council

November 11, 2002

Brookings President Strobe Talbott has announced the appointment of Ambassador J. Stapleton Roy as chairman of the Advisory Council of the Brookings Center for Northeast Asian Policy Studies (CNAPS). He replaces Ambassador Morton Abramowitz.

“I cannot think of anyone more qualified than Stape Roy to help guide CNAPS in the years ahead,” said Talbott. “[Former Brookings President] Mike Armacost and Mort Abramowitz saw the need for an organization like CNAPS, and I am grateful that they worked tirelessly to see it established. Stape Roy, with his decades of diplomatic experience in East Asia, will help ensure that CNAPS continues to build strong ties between Brookings and the region and fosters better understanding in Washington of key issues in U.S.-Asian relations.”

Ambassador Roy joined the United States Foreign Service in 1956. Among his many posts, he served as ambassador to Singapore, China, and Indonesia and as assistant secretary of State for Intelligence and Research. He is now managing director of Kissinger Associates, Inc.

Established in 1998, CNAPS serves as a locus for research, analysis, and outreach designed to enhance policy development and understanding on the pressing political, economic, and security issues facing Northeast Asia. Its flagship program is a mid-career sabbatical fellowship that brings up to six visiting fellows from Northeast Asia to the Center for ten months to conduct individual and collaborative research and interact with the U.S. policymaking community. CNAPS also sponsors an array of policy-oriented seminars, roundtables, and discussions, and facilitates research, analysis, and publications. The director of CNAPS is Richard Bush.

The Advisory Council comprises leaders of the policy, business, and academic communities from the United States and northeast Asia. It helps forge new contacts between Brookings and Asia and meets twice each year, once in the region and once in Washington, D.C., to review the Center’s activities and discuss goals. The Council’s members are:

  • Ronnie Chan
  • Nayan Chanda
  • Morris Chang
  • Gina Despres
  • Thomas Donilon
  • Yoichi Funabashi
  • Han Sung-Joo
  • Hong Seok-Hyun
  • Hyun Hong-Choo
  • Paul Hsu
  • Kim Kyung-Won
  • Richard Medley
  • Ernest Micek
  • Minoru Murofushi
  • Sadako Ogata
  • Stephen Solarz
  • Wang Jisi
  • Hiroyuki Yoshino
  • Yuan Ming
  • Mortimer Zuckerman

About Brookings

The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C. Our mission is to conduct in-depth, nonpartisan research to improve policy and governance at local, national, and global levels.