Skip to main content

About the John L. Thornton China Center

In 2006, the Brookings Institution established research centers focused on China in Washington, D.C., and Beijing. The John L. Thornton China Center in Washington is widely recognized as the leading research center on China’s political system and its foreign and economic policies. The Brookings-Tsinghua China Office at Tsinghua University in Beijing is a Chinese institution that informs China’s leadership and the Chinese policy community.

John L. Thornton China Center

The John L. Thornton China Center at Brookings develops timely, independent analyses and policy recommendations to help U.S. and Chinese leaders address long-standing challenges, both in terms of U.S.-China relations and China’s internal development. Through a broad range of publications—from blogs and op-eds to monographs and books—all of the scholarly research conducted in the Thornton China Center is made accessible to both policymakers and the public. Building on the inherent convening power of the Brookings Institution, the Center hosts a wide array of public programs, roundtables, seminars, and conferences to highlight this work.

Scholars at the John L. Thornton China Center address critical issues related to China’s modernization. While the Center’s research agenda is dynamic and responsive to new developments, abiding areas of interest include:

  • Foreign policy and U.S.-China relations
  • Economics and finance
  • China’s political leadership
  • China’s domestic challenges
  • China’s public intellectuals
  • Global governance and institutions

John L. Thornton China Center Experts and Staff

Center Leadership

Cheng Li, Director and Senior Fellow
Ryan McElveen, Associate Director

Experts and Research Staff

Jeffrey A. Bader, Senior Fellow
David Dollar, Senior Fellow
Kevin Dong, Senior Research Assistant
Rush Doshi, Fellow and Director, China Strategy Initiative
Ryan Hass, Senior Fellow, Michael H. Armacost Chair and Interim Chen-Fu and Cecilia Yen Koo Chair in Taiwan Studies
James Haynes, Senior Research Assistant
Jamie Horsley, Visiting Fellow
Kenneth G. Lieberthal, Senior Fellow Emeritus
Jonathan Stromseth, Senior Fellow and Lee Kuan Yew Chair in Southeast Asian Studies

Nonresident Experts

Richard C. Bush, Nonresident Senior Fellow
Thomas J. Christensen, Nonresident Senior Fellow
Diana Fu, Nonresident Fellow
Paul Gewirtz, Nonresident Senior Fellow
Evan Osnos, Nonresident Senior Fellow
Peter A. Petri, Nonresident Senior Fellow
Jonathan D. Pollack, Nonresident Senior Fellow
Pavneet Singh, Nonresident Fellow (On Leave)
Susan A. Thornton, Nonresident Senior Fellow
Robert D. Williams, Nonresident Senior Fellow
Daniel B. Wright, Nonresident Senior Fellow
Xue Lan, Nonresident Senior Fellow

Get daily updates from Brookings