Skip to main content

Brookings Leadership

Brookings President

John Rutherford Allen assumed the presidency of the Brookings Institution in November 2017, having most recently served as chair of security and strategy and a distinguished fellow in the Foreign Policy Program at Brookings. Allen is a retired U.S. Marine Corps four-star general and former commander of the NATO International Security Assistance Force (ISAF) and U.S. Forces in Afghanistan.
Learn more about John R. Allen »

Brookings Executive Vice President

Martin S. Indyk is executive vice president of the Brookings Institution and a former U.S. ambassador to Israel. Previously, he was vice president and director of the Foreign Policy Program and was the founding director of the Saban Center for Middle East Policy at Brookings. During the Clinton administration Indyk served as assistant secretary of state for Near East affairs, special assistant to the president, and senior director for Near East and South Asia in the U.S. National Security Council.
Learn more about Martin Indyk »

Brookings Chair of the Board

John L. Thornton is the chair of the Brookings Board of Trustees. The Board is composed of distinguished business executives, academics, former government officials and community leaders. Trustees serve four-year terms and meet three times a year. The Board’s role is to provide governance of the business and affairs of the Institution, approve the fields of scholarly investigation, and safeguard the independence of the Institution’s work.
Learn more about the Board of Trustees »

Brookings Management Staff

Irena Barisic, Vice President, Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer

Jennifer Berlin, Chief of Staff

Ona Alston Dosunmu, Vice President, General Counsel and Interim Chief Operating Officer

Ted Gayer, Vice President and Director, Economic Studies

Homi Kharas, Interim Vice President and Director, Global Economy and Development

Bruce Jones, Vice President and Director, Foreign Policy

Amy Liu, Vice President and Director, Metropolitan Policy Program

David Nassar, Vice President for Communications

Darrell West, Vice President and Director, Governance Studies

Get daily updates from Brookings