News Release

Brookings Books Honored for Excellence and Research Contributions

July 2, 2004

Six books published by the Brookings Institution Press in 2003 have been honored by the American Political Science Association, the National Press Club, and ForeWord Magazine, a bimonthly that focuses on the independent publishing industry.

“The awards reflect the Press’s continued commitment to publishing quality books that address an array of public policy issues and concerns,” said Robert L. Faherty, vice president and director of the Brookings Institution Press.

The awards, which were given to new Brookings titles, include:

  • The Arthur Rowse Award for Best Book on Press Criticism, which went to Brookings Senior Fellow Stephen Hess and veteran broadcast journalist Marvin Kalb for The Media and the War on Terrorism. The book was copublished with Harvard University’s Shorenstein Center on the Press, Politics and Public Policy, where Kalb is a senior fellow. The award, given annually by the National Press Club, is sponsored by former U.S. News & World Report reporter Arthur Rowse. It honors excellence in examining the role and work of the news media in print, radio, television, and online outlets.
  • The American Political Science Association (APSA) 2004 Richard Fenno Award recognized Brookings Senior Fellow Sarah Binder’s Stalemate: Causes and Consequences of Legislative Gridlock as a work that is both theoretically and empirically strong. The prize is dedicated to encouraging scholars to pursue new and different avenues of research in order to find answers to previously unexplored questions about the nature of politics.
  • The APSA 2004 Urban Politics Award was given to Mega-Projects: The Changing Politics of Urban Public Investment, by Alan A. Altshuler and David E. Luberoff, copublished with the Lincoln Institute of Land Policy. The prize is awarded to a book that promotes interest in teaching and research on urban politics and policy. Alan Altshuler, a professor of urban policy at Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government and its Graduate School of Design, is director of the Kennedy School’s Taubman Center for State and Local Government. David E. Luberoff is executive director of the Rappaport Institute of Greater Boston and was formerly associate director of the Taubman Center.
  • The APSA 2004 Leon Epstein Award honored A Voice for Nonprofits by Jeffrey M. Berry. The award is given to a book published in the last two years that has made an outstanding contribution to research and scholarship on political organizations and parties. Jeffrey M. Berry is a professor of political science at Tufts University.
  • ForeWord Magazine’s Silver Prizes were created to bring greater attention to the literary achievements of independent publishers and their authors. Winners and finalists are chosen for editorial excellence and professional production as well as the originality of the narrative and the value the book adds to its genre. The magazine gave its Best Book in Political Science award to America Unbound: The Bush Revolution in Foreign Policy by Ivo H. Daalder, a Brookings senior fellow in Foreign Policy Studies, and James M. Lindsay, vice president and director of studies at the Council on Foreign Relations. The award for Best Book in Business and Economics went to May the Best Team Win: Baseball Economics and Public Policy, by Andrew Zimbalist, who is a professor of economics at Smith College.

In addition to these honors for Brookings books, Peter W. Singer, a Brookings National Security Fellow at the Saban Center for Middle East Policy, won APSA’s 2004 Gladys M. Kammerer Award for his book, Corporate Warriors: The Rise of the Privatized Corporate Military Industry (Cornell University Press, 2003). The prize is awarded annually to the best book on U.S. national policy.

About Brookings

The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C. Our mission is to conduct in-depth, nonpartisan research to improve policy and governance at local, national, and global levels.