News Release

Advisory Council Announced: Hutchins Center on Fiscal and Monetary Policy at Brookings

March 27, 2014

Washington, D.C. — The Hutchins Center on Fiscal and Monetary Policy at the Brookings Institution has selected the members of its advisory committee, director David Wessel announced today. Lawrence Summers, the Charles W. Eliot University Professor at Harvard University, and N. Gregory Mankiw, Professor of Economics at Harvard University, will serve as co-chairs.

Joining them will be Ben Bernanke of the Brookings Institution; Stephen Cecchetti of Brandeis International Business School; Martin Feldstein of Harvard University; Laurence Fink of BlackRock; Glenn Hutchins of Silver Lake; Alan Murray of the Pew Research Center; Henry Paulson of The Paulson Institute; Ruth Porat of Morgan Stanley; and Robert Reischauer of the Urban Institute.

The Advisory Council will offer advice to the Hutchins Center’s leadership to guide its research agenda, cultivate new ideas, maintain high-quality output and generate the greatest possible impact.

“We’re extremely grateful that these distinguished individuals, all of them very busy, have agreed to help us build the Hutchins Center and to reinforce its commitment to non-partisan, fact-driven research and analysis about fiscal and monetary policy,” said David Wessel, the director of the Hutchins Center.

The Hutchins Center was launched by the Brookings’ Economic Studies program in December 2013 with support from Glenn Hutchins, vice chairman of the Brookings board of trustees, and the Hutchins Family Foundation. The Center’s mission is to improve the quality and efficacy of monetary and fiscal policy and public understanding of those policies.

For more on the Hutchins Center, see

Advisory Council:

Lawrence Summers will serve as a co-chair. He is the Charles W. Eliot University Professor and President Emeritus at Harvard. He was Secretary of the Treasury for President Bill Clinton, and director of the National Economic Council for President Barack Obama.

N. Gregory Mankiw will serve as a co-chair. He is a professor of economics at Harvard University, and was chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers for President George W. Bush.

Ben Bernanke is a distinguished senior fellow in residence at the Brookings Institution. He is the former chairman of the Federal Reserve.

Stephen Cecchetti is a professor of international economics at Brandeis International Business School.  He was previously the economic adviser at the Bank of International Settlements.

Martin Feldstein is the George F. Baker professor of economics at Harvard University and President Emeritus of the National Bureau of Economic Research. He was the chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers for President Ronald Reagan.

Laurence Fink is the chairman and chief executive of BlackRock.

Glenn Hutchins is the co-founder of Silver Lake.

Alan Murray is president of the Pew Research Center

Henry Paulson is the chairman of The Paulson Institute and was secretary of the Treasury for George W. Bush.

Ruth Porat is the executive vice president and chief financial officer for Morgan Stanley.

Robert Reischauer is President Emeritus of the Urban Institute. He is a former director of the Congressional Budget Office.

About Brookings

The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C. Our mission is to conduct in-depth, nonpartisan research to improve policy and governance at local, national, and global levels.