Board of Trustees

The Brookings Board of Trustees is composed of distinguished business executives, academics, former government officials and community leaders. Trustees serve three-year terms and meet three times a year. The Board's role is to provide governance of the business and affairs of the Institution, approve the fields of scholarly investigation, and safeguard the independence of the Institution's work.

David M. Rubenstein
Co-Chair of the Board
The Brookings Institution
Co-Founder and Co-CEO
The Carlyle Group

John L. Thornton
Co-Chair of the Board
The Brookings Institution

Glenn Hutchins
Vice Chair of the Board
The Brookings Institution
Silver Lake

Suzanne Nora Johnson
Vice Chair of the Board
The Brookings Institution
Former Vice Chairman
The Goldman Sachs Group, Inc.

Strobe Talbott
The Brookings Institution

Robert J. Abernethy
American Standard Development Co., Inc.

Paul M. Achleitner
Chairman of the Supervisory Board
Deutsche Bank AG

Liaquat Ahamed
Former Chief Executive Officer
Fischer Francis Trees and Watts, Inc.

Dominic Barton
Global Managing Director
McKinsey & Company, Inc.

Robert M. Bass
Keystone Group, L.P.

Alan R. Batkin
Converse Associates, Inc.

Crandall Bowles
The Springs Company

Hanzade Dogan Boyner
Vice Chairwoman
Dogan Holding Sirketler Grubu A.S.

Paul L. Cejas
PLC Investment, Inc.

W. Edmund Clark
Retired Executive
TD Bank Group

Abby Joseph Cohen
President, Global Markets Institute and Senior Investment Strategist
Goldman, Sachs & Co.

Betsy Z. Cohen
Chief Executive Officer
The Bancorp

Arthur R. Collins
Managing Partner

Howard E. Cox
Special Limited Partner

Arthur B. Culvahouse Jr.
Chairman Emeritus
O'Melveny & Myers LLP

Alan M. Dachs
President and CEO
Fremont Group

Paul Desmarais Jr.
Chairman and Co-CEO
Power Corporation of Canada

Kenneth M. Duberstein
Chairman and CEO
The Duberstein Group, Inc.

Cheryl Cohen Effron
Conjunction Fund

Alfonso Fanjul
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
Fanjul Corp. and Florida Crystals Corporation

Bart Friedman
Senior Partner
Cahill Gordon & Reindel

Ann M. Fudge
Former Chairman and CEO
Young & Rubicam Brands

Ellen Futter
American Museum of Natural History

Helene Gayle
Chief Executive Office
McKinsey Social Initiative

Brian L. Greenspun
Chairman and CEO
Greenspun Media Group

Pete Higgins
Founding Partner
Second Avenue Partners

Victor L. Hymes
Chief Executive Officer and Chief Investment Officer
Legato Capital Management LLC

Shirley Ann Jackson Ph.D.
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Benjamin R. Jacobs
Senior Advisor/Founder
The JBG Companies

Kenneth M. Jacobs
Chairman and CEO

Klaus Kleinfeld
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
Alcoa, Inc.

Philip H. Knight
Nike, Inc.

James Murren
Chairman and CEO
MGM Resorts International

James Rogers
Retired Chairman
Duke Energy

Wilbur Ross
Chairman and Chief Strategy Officer
WL Ross & Co. LLC

Victoria P. Sant
The Summit Foundation

Leonard D. Schaeffer
Founding Chairman & CEO

Peter Scher
Chairman of the Washington D.C. Region and Head of Corporate Responsibility
JPMorgan Chase & Co.

Arne M. Sorenson
President and Chief Executive Officer
Marriott International, Inc.

Antoine W. van Agtmael
Senior Advisor
Garten Rothkopf
Former Chairman
Ashmore EMM, LLC

David Weinberg
Chairman and CEO
Judd Enterprises

Beatrice W. Welters
Founder and Co-Chairperson
AnBryce Foundation

John H. White Jr.
President and CEO
Taco, Inc.

Tracy R. Wolstencroft
Heidrick and Struggles

Daniel Yergin
IHS, Inc.
IHS Cambridge Energry Research Associates

Daniel B. Zwirn
Chief Executive Officer and Chief Investment Officer
Arena Investors LP



Louis W. Cabot, chair emeritus
Cabot-Wellington LLC

James A. Johnson, chair emeritus
Johnson Capital Partners

Zoë Baird Budinger
The Markle Foundation

Rex J. Bates

Richard C. Blum
Chairman and President
Blum Capital Partners, LP

Geoffrey T. Boisi
Chairman and CEO
Roundtable Investment Partners LLC

Kenneth W. Dam
Max Pam Professor of American & Foreign Law
University of Chicago Law School

Steven A. Denning
General Atlantic LLC

Vishakha N. Desai Ph.D
Special Advisor for Global Affairs
Columbia University

Thomas E. Donilon
Former U.S. National Security Advisor
Senior Partner
O'Melveny and Myers

Lawrence K. Fish
Former Chairman and CEO
Citizens Financial Group, Inc.

Cyrus F. Freidheim Jr.
Old Harbour Partners, LLC

David Friend
President and CEO
Carbonite, Inc.

Henry Louis Gates, Jr.
Hutchins Center for African and African American Research
Harvard University

William A. Haseltine Ph.D.
The Haseltine Foundation
Haseltine Global Health, LLC

Teresa Heinz
Heinz Family Foundation

Joel Z. Hyatt
Chairman, CEO and Co-Founder
Globality, Inc.

Ann Dibble Jordan

Vernon E. Jordan Jr.
Senior Managing Director
Of Counsel
Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld, LLP

Richard A. Kimball Jr.
Chief Strategy Officer
Accretive Health Inc.

Nemir Kirdar
Founder, Executive Chairman and CEO

Donald F. McHenry
Distinguished Professor in the Practice of Diplomacy and International Affairs
School of Foreign Service
Georgetown University

Rajan Bharti Mittal
Vice Chairman
Bharti Enterprises Limited

Mario M. Morino
Co-Founder and Chairman
Venture Philanthropy Partners

Thomas C. Ramey
Former Chairman
Liberty International, Liberty Mutual Group

Steven Rattner
Willett Advisors LLC

Edgar Rios
Co-Founder and Managing Director
Wenzi Capital Partners

James D. Robinson III
General Partner and Co-Founder
RRE Ventures

Haim Saban
Chairman and CEO
Saban Capital Group, Inc.

Ralph S. Saul
Former Chairman
CIGNA Corporation

Michael P. Schulhof
Chairman and CEO
Global Technology Investments

Lynn Thoman
Leon Lowenstein Foundation

Larry D. Thompson
Executive VP of Governmental Affairs, General Counsel and Secretary
PepsiCo, Inc.

Michael L. Tipsord
President and CEO
State Farm Insurance Companies

Andrew H. Tisch
Co-Chairman of the Board
Loews Corporation

Stephen M. Wolf
RR Donnelly and Sons Company

Ezra K. Zilkha
Zilkha & Sons, Inc.