Congress	Party in majority	No. of majority party members in Senate	No. chairing standing committees and subcommittees	% chairing standing committees and subcommittees	Average no. of standing committees and subcommittees chaired by majority members	No. chairing all committees and subcommittees ^a	% chairing all committees and subcommittees ^a	Average no. of all committees and subcommittees chaired by majority members
84th (1955 - 1956)	D	48	42	87.5	1.8	42	87.5	2.0
90th (1967 - 1968)	D	64	55	85.9	1.8	58	90.6	2.1
92nd (1971 - 1972)	D	55 ^b	51	92.7	2.6	52	94.5	2.9
94th (1975 - 1976)	D	62 ^b	57	91.9	2.4	57	91.9	2.9
96th (1979 - 1980)	D	59 ^b	58	98.3	1.8	58	98.3	2.1
97th (1981 - 1982)	R	53	51	96.2	1.9	52	98.1	2.3
98th (1983 - 1984)	R	54	52	96.3	1.9	52	96.3	2.5
99th (1985 - 1986)	R	53	49	92.5	1.9	49	92.5	2.0
100th (1987 - 1988)	D	54	47	87.0	1.8	47	87.0	2.0
101st (1989 - 1990)	D	55	46	83.6	1.9	46	83.6	1.9
102nd (1991 - 1992)	D	56	50	89.3	1.8	50	89.3	2.0
103rd (1993 - 1994)	D	57	46	80.7	1.8	46	80.7	1.9
104th (1995 - 1996)	R	54	44	81.5	1.8	44	81.5	1.9
105th (1997 - 1998)	R	55	48	87.3	1.7	48	87.3	1.9
106th (1999 - 2000)	R	55	53	96.4	1.6	53	96.4	1.7
107th (2001 - 2002) ^c	R	50	49	98.0	1.7	49	98.0	1.8
108th (2003 - 2004)	R	51	51	100.0	1.7	51	100.0	1.8
109th (2005 - 2006)	R	55	52	94.5	1.6	53	96.4	1.7
110th (2007 - 2008)	D	51 ^d	40	78.4	1.6	40	78.4	1.7
111th (2009 - 2010)	D	60 ^d	48	80.0	1.5	48	80.0	1.7
112th (2011 - 2012)	D	53 ^d	48	90.6	1.6	49	92.4	1.7
113th (2013 - 2014)	D	53 ^e	46	86.8	1.6	47	88.7	1.7
114th (2015 - 2016)	R	54	50	92.6	1.6	51	94.4	1.7
115th (2017 - 2018)	R	52	49	94.2	1.6	50	96.2	1.7
116th (2019 - 2020)	R	53	48	90.6	1.5	49	92.5	1.7
117th (2021 - 2022)	D	50	48	96.0	1.7	48	96.0	1.8
118th (2023 - 2024)	D	51	50	98.0	1.7	50	98.0	1.8

- a. This number includes standing committees, subcommittees of standing committees, select and special committees, subcommittees of select and special committees, joint committees, and subcommittees of joint committees.
- b. This number includes Harry Byrd, Jr., who was elected as an Independent.
- c. These numbers are correct as of the start of the 107th Congress and do not reflect changes in committee assignments that occurred after Jim Jeffords (VT) left the Republican Party to become an Independent, shifting control of the Senate to the Democrats.
- d. This number includes Joe Lieberman and Bernard Sanders, who were elected as Independents.
- e. This number includes Bernard Sanders and Angus King, who were elected as Independents.

Source: Nelson, Garrison, Committees in the U.S. Congress 1947-1992, Committee Jurisdictions and Member Rosters (Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, 1993); Congressional Quarterly Committee Guide, Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report, various issues; U.S. Senate, http://www.senate.gov.