				Consecutive terms served					
			Average						
Election	Party	Incumbents lost	terms	1	2	3	4	5	6+
1946	Democrat	11	1.6	7	2	1	1	0	0
	Republican	2	4.0	0	0	0	2	0	0
	Total	13	2.0	7	2	1	3	0	0
1948	Democrat	2	1.5	1	1	0	0	0	0
	Republican	8	1.0	8	0	0	0	0	0
	Total	10	1.1	9	1	0	0	0	0
1958	Republican	10	1.4	6	4	0	0	0	0
	Total	10	1.4	6	4	0	0	0	0
1966	Democrat	4	2.0	2	0	2	0	0	0
	Total	4	2.0	2	0	2	0	0	0
1974	Democrat	2	3.0	1	0	0	0	1	0
	Republican	2	1.5	1	1	0	0	0	0
	Total	4	2.2	2	1	0	0	1	0
1978	Democrat	7	0.9	6	0	1	0	0	0
	Republican	3	2.7	0	2	0	1	0	0
	Total	10	1.4	6	2	1	1	0	0
1980	Democrat	12	2.4	5	1	3	2	0	1
	Republican	1	4.0	0	0	0	1	0	0
	Total	13	2.6	5	1	3	3	0	1
1982	Democrat	1	4.0	0	0	0	1	0	0
	Republican	1	1.0	1	0	0	0	0	0
	Total	2	2.5	1	0	0	1	0	0
1984	Democrat	1	2.0	0	1	0	0	0	0
	Republican	2	2.0	1	0	1	0	0	0
	Total	3	2.0	1	1	1	0	0	0
1986	Republican ^a	7	0.9	7	0	0	0	0	0
	Total	7	0.9	7	0	0	0	0	0
1988	Democrat	1	2.0	0	1	0	0	0	0
	Republican	3	1.4	2	0	1	0	0	0
	Total	4	1.6	2	1	1	0	0	0
1990	Republican	1	2.0	0	1	0	0	0	0
	Total	1	2.0	0	1	0	0	0	0

Table 2-11 Defeated Senate Incumbents, 1946 - 2022

				Consecutive terms served					
			Average						
Election	Party	Incumbents lost	terms	1	2	3	4	5	6+
1992	Democrat	3	1.3	2	1	0	0	0	0
	Republican	2	1.2	1	1	0	0	0	0
	Total	5	1.3	3	2	0	0	0	0
1994	Democrat	2	1.8	1	0	1	0	0	0
	Total	2	1.8	1	0	1	0	0	0
1996	Republican ^c	2	1.5	1	0	1	0	0	0
	Total	2	1.5	1	0	1	0	0	0
1998	Democrat	1	1.0	1	0	0	0	0	0
	Repbulican	2	2.0	1	1	0	0	0	0
	Total	3	1.7	2	1	0	0	Ő	0
						-	-		-
2000	Democrat	1	2.0	0	1	0	0	0	0
	Republican	5	2.0	3	1	0	0	1	0
	Total	6	2.0	3	2	0	0	1	0
2002	Democrat ^d	2	0.7	2	0	0	0	0	0
	Republican	2	1.5	1	1	0	0	0	0
	Total	4	1.3	3	1	0	0	0	0
2004	Democrat	1	3.0	0	0	1	0	0	0
	Republican	0	0.0	0	0	0	0	0	0
	Total	1	3.0	0	0	1	0	0	0
2006	Republican	5	1.8	2	2	1	0	0	0
	Total	5	1.8	2	2	1	0	0	0
2008	Republican	5	2.2	3	1	0	0	0	1
2000	Total	5	2.2	3	1	0	0	0	1
								Ŭ	
2010	Democrat	3	3.3	0	1	1	0	1	0
	Republican	1	3.0	0	0	1	0	0	0
	Total	4	3.3	0	1	2	0	1	0
2012	Republican	1	1	1	0	0	0	0	0
	Total	1	1	1	0	0	0	0	0
2014	Democrat ^e	5	2.0	3	0	1	1	0	0
2014	Republican	0	0.0	0	0	0	0	0	0
	Total	5	2.0	3	0	1	1	0	0
0016	Dopublican	0	4	2	0	0	0	0	0
2016	Republican Total	2 2	1 1	2 2	0 0	0 0	0 0	0 0	0 0
		2		2	Ŭ	U	Ū	0	0
2018	Democrat	4	1.8	2	1	1	0	0	0
	Republican	1	2	0	1	0	0	0	0
	Total	5	1.8	2	2	1	0	0	0

Table 2-11 Defeated Senate Incumbents, 1946 - 2022

Election	Party	Incumbents lost		0	conse	cutive	ve terms served			
			Average terms	1	2	3	4	5	6+	
	,									
2020	Democrat	1	0.5	1	0	0	0	0	0	
	Republican	4	0.63	4	0	0	0	0	0	
	Total	5	0.6	5	0	0	0	0	0	
2022	Democrat	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	
	Republican	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	
	Total	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	

Table 2-11 Defeated Senate Incumbents, 1946 - 2022

Note: Some data from previous versions of Vital Statistics have been updated. See errata for more detail.

Incumbent appointees who lose after having served only part of a term are included in the "1 term" column, but only the fraction of the term they served is used when calculating the average terms.

a. This includes James Broyhill (R-NC) who was appointed on July 14, 1986, until November 14, 1986. He lost to Terry Sanford (D-NC) who took over the seat on November 5, 1986.

b. Includes John Seymour (R-CA) who was appointed on January 7, 1991, until November 3, 1992.

c. Includes Sheila Frahm (R-KS) who was appointed on June 11, 1996 until November 7, 1996.

d. Includes Jean Carnahan (D-MO) who was appointed to fill her husband's seat in 2001.

e. Does not include John Walsh (D-MT) who withdrew from the race after the primary and was replaced on the ballot.

Source: Biographical Directory of the United States Congress 1774–1989 (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1989); Congressional Quarterly Almanac (Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, various years); National Journal, various issues; The Almanac of American Politics (Washington, D.C.: National Journal Group, various years).

Most recent update source: Tabulations of data from Federal Election Commission, http://www.fec.gov