	_	Incumbent defeated		Open seat	
	Total				
Year	changes	$D \to R$	$R \to D$	$D \to R$	$R \to D$
1954	6	2	3	1	0
1956	8	1	3	3	1
1958	13	0	10	0	3
1960	3	1	1	1	0
1962	8	2	4	0	2
1964	4	1	3	0	0
1966	3	2	0	1	0
1968	9	5	1	2	1
1970	6	3	2	1	0
1972	10	2	4	2	2
1974	6	0	2	1 <sup>a</sup>	3
1976	14	5	4	2	3
1978	13	5	3	3	2
1980	12	12	0	0	0
1982	3	1	1	0	1
1984	4	1	2	0	1
1986	10	0	7	1	2
1988	7	1	3	2	1
1990	1	0	1	0	0
1992	4	1	3	0	0
1994	8 <sup>b</sup>	2	0	6	0
1996	3	0	1	2	0
1998	6	1	2	2	1
2000	8	1	5	1	1
2002	3	1	1	1 <sup>c</sup>	0
2004	8	1	0	5	2
2006	6	0	6	0	0
2008	7	0	4 <sup>d</sup>	0	3
2010	6 <sup>e</sup>	2 <sup>t</sup>	0	4	0
2012	1	0	1	0	0
2014	9	5	0	4 <sup>g</sup>	0
2016	2	0	2	0	0

Table 2-6Senate Seats That Changed Party, 1954 - 2016

Note: D indicates Democrat; R indicates Republican. This table reflects shifts in party control of seats from immediately before to immediately after the November election.

Party gains that resulted from an incumbent being defeated in either a primary or general election are classified as incumbent defeats. In situations where the incumbent declined to run again, ran for another political office, or died or resigned before the end of the term are classified as open seats.

a. Includes John Durkin (D-NH). After a contested election in which incumbent Sen. Norris Cotton did not run, the Senate declared the seat vacant as of August 8, 1975. Sen. Durkin was then elected by special election, September 16, 1975, to fill the vacancy.

b. Sen. Richard Shelby (AL) switched from the Democratic to the Republican Party the day after the election and brought the total change to nine.

c. Includes Norm Coleman (R-MN) who beat Walter Mondale (D-MN) after the death of Sen. Paul Wellstone (D-MN).

d. Does not include Al Franken (D-MN), who was declared on 30 June 2009 to have won the US Senate contest defeating Incumbent Senator Norm Coleman (R-MN). This brings the R→D Incumbent Defeat up to 5, and the Total Changes up to 8.

e. Does not include Incumbent Senator Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), who lost her primary to Joe Miller (R-AK) but won the general election as a Republican write-in candidate. f. Includes Pat Toomey (R-PA), who defeated Senator Arlen Specter (D-PA). Specter had changed his affiliation from Republican to Democrat in office on April 30, 2009. g. Includes Montana Senate race, in which incumbent John Walsh withdrew from race after winning Democratic primary and was replaced at party convention.

Source: Congressional Quarterly Almanac (Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, various years); Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report, various issues; National Journal, various issues, The Green Papers, http://thegreenpapers.com.