				Consecutive terms served						
		Incumbents	Average							
Election	Party	lost	terms	1	2	3	1 - 3	4 - 6	7 - 9	10+
1946	Democrat	62	2.7	35	5	4	44	11	5	2
	Republican	7	3.6	2	0	1	3	3	1	0
	Total	69	2.8	37	5	5	47	14	6	2
1948	Democrat ^a	9	2.7	4	1	1	6	3	0	0
	Republican	73	2.2	41	3	12	56	14	2	1
	Total	82	2.3	45	4	13	62	17	2	1
1958	Democrat ^b	6	5.0	1	1	0	2	2	1	1
	Republican	34	4.3	9	0	4	13	14	6	1
	Total	40	4.4	10	1	4	15	16	7	2
1966	Democrat	43	3.3	26	6	0	32	4	1	6
	Republican	2	11.0	1	0	0	1	0	0	1
	Total	45	3.6	27	6	0	33	4	1	7
1974	Democrat	9	4.7	1	1	1	3	3	2	1
	Republican	39	3.8	11	2	6	19	15	2	3
	Total	48	4.0	12	3	7	22	18	4	4
1978	Democrat	19	4.0	3	8	2	13	2	1	3
	Republican	5	5.4	2	0	0	2	2	0	1
	Total	24	4.3	5	8	2	15	4	1	4
1980	Democrat	32	5.2	5	2	10	17	5	4	6
	Republican	5	5.3	1	0	1	2	1	1	1
	Total	37	5.2	6	2	11	19	6	5	7
1982	Democrat	4	2.9	1	0	1	2	2	0	0
	Republican ^c	23	3.0	12	3	2	17	2	2	2
	Total	27	3.0	13	3	3	19	4	2	2
1984	Democrat	16	4.1	6	1	2	9	4	1	2
	Republican	3	3.7	0	0	2	2	1	0	0
	Total	19	4.0	6	1	4	11	5	1	2
1986	Democrat	3	1.8	2	0	0	2	1	0	0
	Republican	6	1.5	4	1	1	6	0	0	0
	Total	9	1.6	6	1	1	8	1	0	0

Table 2-10 Defeated House Incumbents, 1946 - 2016

				Cons	secutive terms served					
		Incumbents	Average							
Election	Party	lost	terms	1	2	3			7 - 9	10+
1988	Democrat	2	12.0	0	0	0	0	0	0	2
	Republican	5	1.6	2	3	0	5	0	0	0
	Total	7	4.6	2	3	0	5	0	0	2
1990	Democrat	6	6.3	0	1	0	1	3	1	1
	Republican ^d	10	3.6	2	3	0	5	4	1	0
	Total	16	4.6	2	4	0	6	7	2	1
1992	Democrat	30	5.6	2	1	4	7	12	10	1
	Republican	13	6.8	2	0	2	4	1	6	2
	Total	43	6.0	4	1	6	11	13	16	3
1994	Democrat	37	4.2	16	3	5	24	7	2	4
	Republican	0	0.0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0
	Total	37	4.2	16	3	5	24	7	2	4
1996	Democrat ^e	3	4.7	1	0	1	2	0	0	1
	Republican	18	1.8	12	4	1	17	0	1	0
	Total	21	2.2	13	4	2	19	0	1	1
1998	Democrat	1	1.0	1	0	0	1	0	0	0
	Republican	6	1.7	3	2	1	6	0	0	0
	Total	7	1.6	4	2	1	7	0	0	0
2000	Democrat	4	6.5	0	0	1	1	1	1	1
	Republican	5	2.4	1	2	1	4	1	0	0
	Total	9	4.2	1	2	2	5	1	1	1
2002	Democrat ^t	12	4.6	0	2	2	4	5	3	0
	Republican	5	4.8	2	0	0	2	1	1	1
	Total	17	4.7	2	2	2	6	6	4	1
2004	Democrat ^g	5	3	1	0	2	3	2	0	0
	Republican	2	9	1	0	0	1	0	0	1
	Total	7	4.7	2	0	2	4	2	0	1

Table 2-10 Defeated House Incumbents, 1946 - 2016

				Consecutive terms served						
		Incumbents	Average							
Election	Party	lost	terms	1	2	3	1 - 3	4 - 6	7 - 9	10+
2006	Democrat	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0	0
	Republican	22	5.9	2	2	2	6	9	3	4
	Total	22	5.9	2	2	2	6	9	3	4
2008	Democrat ^h	6	3.2	4	0	0	4	1	1	0
	Republican	17	4.4	3	2	4	6	4	3	1
	Total	23	4.1	7	2	4	13	5	4	1
2010	Democrat	54	3.8	23	15	3	41	1	4	7
	Republican	4	1.5	3	0	1	4	0	0	0
	Total	58	3.6	26	15	4	45	1	4	7
2012										
	Democrat	10	6.2	2	2	1	5	2	1	2
	Republican	17	2.5	12	0	1	13	1	2	1
	Total	27	3.9	14	2	2	18	3	3	3
2014										
	Democrat	12	4.3	7	1	0	8	2	1	1
	Republican	6	6	2	1	0	3	0	2	1
	Total	18 ¹	4.8	9	2	0	11	2	3	2
2016										
	Democrat	3	7	1	0	0	1	0	1	1
	Republican	9	4.2	3	1	2	6	0	2	1
	Total	12	4.9	4	0	0	7	0	3	2

Table 2-10 Defeated House Incumbents, 1946 - 2016

Note: The 1966 and 1982 numbers do not include races where incumbents ran against incumbents due to redistricting. We counted incumbents who lost in the primary as their party's incumbent but then ran in the general election as a write-in or third-party candidate as an incumbent loss.

a. This includes Leo Isacson (NY), who was a member of the American Labor Party.

b. This includes Vincent Dellay (NJ), who was elected as a Republican but switched to a Democrat. He ran for reelection as an Independent. c. This includes Eugene Atkinson (PA), who began his House service January 3, 1979, as a Democrat. He became a Republican on October 14, 1981.

d. This includes Donald Lukens (OH) who was defeated in the primary and then resigned on October 24, 1990 and Bill Grant (Fla.) who began his House service January 6, 1987, as a Democrat, but later switched parties. The Republican Conference let his seniority count from 1987. e. One Democratic incumbent, who served more than ten terms in office, was defeated.

f. Includes Jim Traficant (OH) who ran as an Independent after being expelled from the House.

g. Excludes two 13-term representatives, Charles Stenholm (TX) and Martin Frost (TX), that ran against incumbents as a result of redistricting.

h. Includes Albert R. Wynn (D-MD) who lost his primary on February 13, 2008, and promptly resigned his seat effective May 31, 2008.

i. Includes Parker Griffith (AL) who began his House service January 3, 2009, as a Democrat but switched to a Republican on December 22, 2009.

j. Excludes the defeat of Eni Faleomavaega (D-Samoa) seeking 14th term as a non-voting delegate.

Source: Biographical Directory of the United States Congress 1774-2012, http://bioguide.congress.gov; Congressional Quarterly Almanac (Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly, various years); National Journal, various issues; The Almanac of American Politics (Washington, D.C.: National Journal Group, various years); Roll Call, Casualty List: 112th Congress, Center for Responsive Politics, http://opensecrets.org