

BROOKINGS BLUM ROUNDTABLE

FROM AID TO GLOBAL DEVELOPMENT COOPERATION

August 3 - 5, 2011

Participant List

Co-Chairs

Richard C. Blum

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Blum Capital Partners, LP

Kemal Derviş

Vice President and Director Global Economy and Development The Brookings Institution

Honorary Co-Chairs

Walter Isaacson

President and Chief Executive Officer The Aspen Institute

Mary Robinson

President

Mary Robinson Foundation – Climate Justice; Former President of Ireland

Participants

Samina Ahmed

South Asia Project Director International Crisis Group

Madeleine K. Albright

Chair

The Albright Stonebridge Group; U.S. Secretary of State, 1997-2001

William Antholis

Managing Director The Brookings Institution

Ernest Aryeetey

Vice Chancellor University of Ghana

Ragui Assaad

Professor of Planning and Public Affairs University of Minnesota

J. Brian Atwood

Chair

Development Assistance Committee, Organisation of Economic Co-operation and Development

Owen Barder

Senior Fellow and Director for Europe Center for Global Development

Suman Bery

Country Director, India International Growth Centre

Joshua Bolten

Managing Director Rock Creek Global Advisors; Former White House Chief of Staff

Laurence Chandy

Fellow Global Economy and Development The Brookings Institution

Henrietta Holsman Fore

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Holsman International

Michael Gerson

Senior Advisor ONE

Al Gore

Chairman

The Alliance for Climate Protection; Former Vice President of the United States

Ann Grant

Vice Chairman Standard Chartered Capital Markets, Ltd.

Kimberly A. Hamilton

Deputy Director, Policy and Advocacy Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation

Sheila Herrling

Vice President Millennium Challenge Corporation

Alan Hirsch

Deputy Director General The Presidency, South Africa

Mirza Jahani

Chief Executive Officer Aga Khan Foundation U.S.A

Donald Kaberuka

President

African Development Bank Group

Daniel Kaufmann

Senior Fellow Global Economy and Development The Brookings Institution

Homi Kharas

Senior Fellow and Deputy Director Global Economy and Development The Brookings Institution

James Kolbe

Senior Transatlantic Fellow The German Marshall Fund of the United States

Steven Kull

Director Program on International Policy Attitudes

Jack Leslie

Chairman Weber Shandwick

Ruth Levine

Director, Global Development and Population Program The William and Flora Hewlett Foundation

Wonhyuk Lim

Director of Policy Research Korean Development Institute

Elizabeth Littlefield

President and Chief Executive Officer Overseas Private Investment Corporation

Robert Mosbacher, Jr.

Chairman Mosbacher Energy Cormpany

Jane Nelson

Director, Corporate Social Responsibility Initiative Harvard University

Thomas R. Nides

Deputy Secretary of State for Management and Resources U.S. Department of State

Raymond Offenheiser

President Oxfam America

Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala

Managing Director World Bank

Joy Phumaphi

Executive Secretary African Leaders Malaria Alliance

Steven Radelet

Chief Economist
U.S. Agency for International Development

Dereck Rooken-Smith

Assistant Director General Australian Agency for International Development

Ananya Roy

Education Director and Professor Blum Center for Developing Economies, University of California, Berkeley

S. Shankar Sastry

Dean, College of Engineering University of California, Berkeley

Liz Schrayer

Executive Director U.S. Global Leadership Coalition

Rajiv Shah

Administrator U.S. Agency for International Development

Smita Singh

Independent

Javier Solana

Distinguished Senior Fellow, Foreign Policy The Brookings Institution; Former European Union High Representative for Common Foreign and Security Policy

Erica Stone

President American Himalayan Foundation

Mark Suzman

Director, Global Development Policy & Advocacy
Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation

Laura Tyson

Professor, Haas School of Business University of California, Berkeley

Samuel A. Worthington

President and Chief Executive Officer InterAction

Noam Unger

Fellow and Policy Director, Foreign Assistance Reform Project The Brookings Institution

Tarik Yousef

Chief Executive Officer Silatech

Phillip Zelikow

Burkett Miller Professor of History University of Virginia

Special Guests

Peggy Clark

Vice President, Policy Programs and Executive Director, Global Health and Development The Aspen Institute

Victor Murinde

Director, Africa Development Institute African Development Bank

Jane Wales

Vice President, Philanthropy and Society and Director, Philanthropy and Innovation Program The Aspen Institute