Skip to main content

Winning Strategies for a Sustainable Future

Reinhard Mohn Prize 2013

By Bertelsmann Stiftung
winning strategies for a sustainable future cover

Since the first Earth Summit was held in 1992, many countries have been looking for a new concept of economic and social progress. The financial and environmental crises of recent years have further demonstrated that a profound shift from traditional concepts of growth and prosperity toward policies committed to sustainability and intergenerational equity is needed. Winning Strategies for a Sustainable Future presents pioneering approaches for achieving these goals, including examples from Bhutan, Costa Rica, Finland, Ghana, and Tasmania.

The Reinhard Mohn Prize was established by the Bertelsmann Stiftung in memory of its founder and is awarded biennially for innovative ideas that address urgent social and political challenges.

Get daily updates from Brookings