Endowment Support


Through chairs, fellowships, lecture series and other vehicles, endowed funds provide a permanent source of income to support Brookings’s work. Brookings endowment policy dictates that 5% of the fund’s value is drawn each year, with any remaining gains reinvested for future growth.

Brookings is grateful to those donors who have demonstrated a commitment to the long-term vitality of the Institution by endowing the work of a Brookings expert. Currently, 30 Brookings experts hold named scholarly positions:

Henry Aaron, The Bruce and Virginia MacLaury Chair
Jeffrey Bader, The John C. Whitehead Senior Fellow in International Diplomacy
Martin Baily, The Bernard L. Schwartz Chair in Economic Policy Development
Jeremy Barofsky, The Okun-Model Fellow
Barry Bosworth, The Robert V. Roosa Chair in International Economics
Gary Burtless, The John C. and Nancy D. Whitehead Chair
Richard Bush, The Michael H. Armacost Chair and The Chen-Fu and Cecilia Yen Koo Chair in Taiwan Studies
Kemal Derviş, The Edward M. Bernstein Scholars Fund
William Gale, The Arjay and Frances Fearing Miller Chair in Federal Economic Policy
William Galston, The Ezra K. Zilkha Chair in Governance Studies
Ted Gayer, The Joseph A. Pechman Memorial Fund
Carol Graham, The Leo Pasvolsky Senior Fellow
Ron Haskins, The Cabot Family Chair
Fiona Hill, The Stephen and Barbara Friedman Endowed Fellow
Bruce Katz, The Adeline M. and Alfred I. Johnson Chair in Urban and Metropolitan Policy
Cameron Kerry, The Ann R. and Andrew H. Tisch Distinguished Visiting Fellow in Governance Studies
Kemal Kirişci, The TÜSİAD Senior Fellow
Don Kohn, The Robert S. Kerr Fund
Joseph Liow, The Lee Kuan Yew Chair
Katharine H.S. Moon, The SK-Korea Foundation Chair in Korea Studies
Michael O’Hanlon, The Sydney Stein, Jr. Chair in International Security
Eswar Prasad, The New Century Chair in International Trade and Economics
Lois Rice, The Miriam K. Carliner Endowment for Economic Studies
Alice Rivlin, The Leonard D. Schaeffer Chair in Health Policy Studies
Mireya Solís, The Philip Knight Chair in Japan Studies
Constanze Stelzenmüller, The Robert Bosch Senior Fellow
Harold Trinkunas, The Charles W. Robinson Chair in Foreign Policy
Darrell West, The Douglas Dillon Chair in Governance Studies
Russ Whitehurst, The Herman and George R. Brown Chair in Education Studies
Clifford Winston, The Searle Freedom Trust Senior Fellow