REUTERS/Larry Downing- Senate Intelligence Committee Chair Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-CA) (L) and Vice Chairman Senator Saxby Chambliss (R-GA) listen during the Senate Intelligence Committee hearing on the House-passed Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act reform bill while on Capitol Hill in Washington, June 5, 2014.

Blog Post

Changing composition of the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court: New designees

April 16, 2015, Russell Wheeler

Chief Justice John G. Roberts, Jr. has designated two new members of the eleven-member Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court (FISC), which has been the object of debate of it's largely non-adversarial proceedings related to domestic government surveillance. In this post, Russell Wheeler highlights important aspects of the FISC's composition when the new designees join the court in May. 

View All Research on U.S. Judiciary ›Show 10 More